WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) applauded the passage of a resolution they introduced last night, which congratulates the West Virginia University (WVU) rifle team on their victory in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) national championship. The Mountaineers made history this month by capturing their 19th NCAA title – a nation-best – with a championship score record of 4723.

The Senate resolution recognizes the West Virginia University Mountaineer student-athletes and coaches on their fifth straight NCAA national championship. To read the resolution in its entirety, click here.

“I am so proud of the WVU Rifle team for winning its fifth-straight national championship,” said Senator Capito. “As the mother of a former college athlete, I understand the hard work and dedication required of student athletes. Balancing a full schedule of academics and athletics is difficult, but these athletes have shown that hard work truly pays off. I offer my congratulations to these Mountaineers who have established themselves as the nation’s best.”

“I'm incredibly proud of the West Virginia University rifle team members on an undefeated regular season and another national championship,” Senator Manchin said. “These achievements by these Mountaineer athletes serve as a model that all of our athletes should follow. They are excellent representatives of West Virginia University and our great state and I congratulate them on yet another championship.”

The 2017 West Virginia University Mountaineers National Championship Team:

Jack Anderson
Will Anti
Milica Babic
Noah Barker
Elizabeth Gratz
Jean-Pierre Lucas
Morgan Phillips
Ginny Thrasher

Head Coach Jon Hammond
Graduate Assistant Coach Michael Bamsey