WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-N.D.), along with 47 Senate co-sponsors, have introduced a resolution disapproving of the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed Clean Power Plan regulations for existing power sources.

“With this resolution, members of Congress will have an opportunity to voice their opinion about whether the administration’s far-reaching Clean Power Plan should go into effect,” said Senator Capito. “There is a reason that 25 states have already filed lawsuits against the Clean Power Plan - this impractical rule fails to consider the costs to American families, communities and jobs. It is time to send a clear signal that across the board regulations from Washington are not the best way forward.”

“This is just one piece of our efforts to push back against EPA’s final rule for existing power plants – a rule that is totally unworkable as written for North Dakota’s utilities and regulators without causing severe reliability issues and massive rate increases,” said Senator Heitkamp. “Our bipartisan legislation enables senators to express their frustration with the rule. Beyond this resolution, I’ve already successfully pressed EPA to meet directly with our utilities and regulators. As a result, EPA has agreed to send technical staff to North Dakota to see firsthand how unique our situation is and to work directly with our utilities and regulators on how – or if –  we can resolve the many obstacles to meeting these goals. We need workable solutions for North Dakota utilities, as well as for a viable path forward for coal – which provides almost 80 percent of North Dakota’s electricity – to guarantee our state’s families and small businesses have affordable and reliable power.”

The resolution introduced by Senators Capito and Heitkamp is co-sponsored by Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.); Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), chairman of the Environment and Public Works Committee; Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), chair of the Energy and Natural Resources Committee; Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.); John Barrasso (R-Wyo.); Roy Blunt (R-Mo.); John Boozman (R-Ark.); Bill Cassidy (R-La.); Dan Coats (R-Ind.); Thad Cochran (R-Miss.); Bob Corker (R-Tenn.); John Cornyn (R-Texas); Tom Cotton (R-Ark.); Mike Crapo (R-Idaho); Ted Cruz (R-Texas); Steve Daines (R-Mont.); Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.); Joni Ernst (R-Iowa); Deb Fischer (R-Neb.); Jeff Flake (R-Fla.); Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.); Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa); Orrin Hatch (R-Utah); John Hoeven (R-N.D.); Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.); Ron Johnson (R-Wis.); James Lankford (R-Okla.); Mike Lee (R-Utah); Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.); John McCain (R-Ariz.); Jerry Moran (R-Kan.); Rand Paul (R-Ky.); David Perdue (R-Ga.); Jim Risch (R-Idaho); Pat Roberts (R-Kan.); Mike Rounds (R-S.D.); Marco Rubio (R-Fla.); Ben Sasse (R-Neb.); Tim Scott (R-S.C.); Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.); Richard Shelby (R-Ala.); Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska); John Thune (R-S.D.); Thom Tillis (R-N.C.); Pat Toomey (R-Pa.); David Vitter (R-La.); and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

View the bipartisan Capito-Heitkamp resolution here.

U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) introduced a related resolution of disapproval regarding the proposed Clean Power Plan regulations for new power sources.