WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), members of the Senate Appropriations Committee, announced West Virginia will receive $420,000 from the Economic Development Administration (EDA) for Economic Development District Planning. Funds will go to Planning and Development Councils in Marion, Ohio, Grant, Mercer, Kanawha, and Wayne counties and are aimed at establishing a framework that supports capital investment and job creation in the region.

“The men and women who work at West Virginia’s regional councils provide invaluable expertise to our state’s communities and counties,” Senator Capito said. “From economic development to infrastructure improvements, the regional councils play an integral role in projects that improve the lives of West Virginians. As a member of the Appropriations Committee, I will continue to fight for these critical resources for our state, and I am excited to see how these funds will help drive growth and development in West Virginia.”

“Strategic financial decisions made by local entities are key to cultivating a healthy economy,” Senator Manchin said. “I am pleased that West Virginia will get the financial support needed to develop and carry out sound economic plans, and as a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee I will continue to fight for economic development funding in the future.”

Individual Awards are listed below:

  • Fairmont - Region IV Planning and Development Council, $70,000
  • Wheeling - Bel-O-Mar Regional Council, $70,000
  • Petersburg - Region 8 Planning and Development Council, $70,000
  • South Charleston - Regional Intergovernmental Council, $70,000
  • Princeton -  Region I Planning and Development Council, $70,000
  • Huntington - Region 2 Planning and Development Council, $70,000

# # #