WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) introduced a bipartisan resolution to honor our nation’s teachers and commemorate National Teacher Appreciation Week for May 4th – 8th.

“I think just about everyone can name a teacher who has made a difference in their life,” Senator Capito said. “When the coronavirus pandemic hit the United States, teachers around the country stepped up and adapted to new teaching methods to ensure our students wouldn’t fall behind. The care and dedication they give to students everyday goes well beyond academic knowledge. Our teachers are helping to raise the next generation of leaders in our country and should be commended for their incredible work.”

“West Virginia teachers have stepped up during these challenging times to provide our students with education and support. They are innovative and adaptive and we are so proud of their continued work during the COVID-19 pandemic and every day. Their work does not go unnoticed and we are forever grateful to our teachers for educating and preparing generations of West Virginians,” said Senator Manchin.

Resolution text can be found here.

The resolution is co-authored by Senators Susan Collins (R-Maine), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Angus King (I-Maine), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Corey Booker (D-N.J.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Jackie Rosen (D-Nev.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), and Patty Murray (D-Wash). 

# # #