Click here to watch Senator Capito’s video congratulating the nominees.

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) today announced U.S. Service Academy nominations for 21 qualified high school seniors from 12 counties in West Virginia. A board chosen by Senator Capito reviewed each nominee’s application, interviewed candidates, and made recommendations.

“Each year, I have the honor and privilege of nominating West Virginia’s best and brightest to our nation’s prestigious service academies,” Senator Capito said. “I am proud to nominate this group of exemplary West Virginians who are smart, talented, and driven. This nomination is just the beginning for these students as they continue their education to become our next leaders. I wish each of these nominees the best of luck, and I can’t wait to see all they will go on to accomplish in the future.”

For more information on the Academy Nomination process, visit Senator Capito’s website here.

Service academy nominees are listed below:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Hietam Rayan Belhachmi

Berkeley County


Carter Dale Cochran

Jackson County


Abbie Grace Culicerto

Raleigh County


David Andrew Elliott Foglesong (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy)

Jefferson County


Tate Walter Jordan

Harrison County


Jacob Conner Lee (also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy)

Cabell County


Savana Lee Pringle

Kanawha County


Nicholas Reid Shirley

Berkeley County


U.S. Military Academy


Tristan Thomas Deeds

Greenbrier County


William Jacob Farkas

Preston County


John William Hall

Jefferson County


Griffin Christopher Horowicz

Jefferson County


Evan William Large

Monongalia County


William Edward Pitkin

Cabell County


Hudson G. Raymo

Kanawha County


Lily Madlyn Turner (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy)

Kanawha County


U.S. Naval Academy


Lucas Ray Anger

Randolph County


Jaxon Paul Fielding (also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy)

Monongalia County


Nicholas Wayne Lanham (also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy)

Putnam County


Tyler Scott Meisenzahl (also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy)

Jefferson County


Thomas Cooper Pauley

Kanawha County


# # #