Capito Nominates 31 West Virginians for Admission to U.S. Service Academies

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) today announced U.S. Service Academy nominations for 31 qualified high school seniors from 20 counties in West Virginia. A board chosen by Senator Capito reviewed each nominee’s application, interviewed candidates, and made recommendations.

“Each year, I have the honor and privilege of nominating West Virginia’s best and brightest to our nation’s prestigious service academies. It is truly one of the most important responsibilities I have as a United States senator,” Senator Capito said. “I am proud to announce this group of young men and women who are smart, talented, and driven and have worked extremely hard to get to this point. Attending a service academy provides more than just an education; it provides the foundation for a life of service and leadership. I wish each of these nominees the best of luck, and I am honored to support them throughout this process.”

Service academy nominees are listed below:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Zeead Mohamed Belhachmi
Berkeley County

Owen Immanuel Gainer
Ohio County

Michael Alexander Henriquez (also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy)
Jefferson County

Hank Zachary Herald
Monongalia County

Sophia McQuaide Parlock
Cabell County

Braeden Cole Pauley
Monongalia County

Michael Lewis Smith
Raleigh County

Emily Renee Stone
Taylor County

Margaret Claire Warner
Monongalia County

Joseph Frederick Wilkins
Hardy County

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Blayne Lee Butler
Mason County

Collin Robert Dodgion
Wayne County

Nicolas André Morel (also nominated to the U.S. Naval Academy)
Berkeley County

U.S. Military Academy

Drew Alexander Adams
Wirt County

Daelen Andrew Boggs
Kanawha County

Jonathan Dwayne Cyrus
Kanawha County

Michael Alexander Henriquez (also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy)
Jefferson County

David Bradley Middleton
Wood County

Mitchell James Miller
Wood County

Cameron Lee Patterson
Putnam County

Katelyn Nicole Richardson
Mercer County

Stephen Robert Snyder
Ohio County

Payton Elizabeth Stamper
Logan County

U.S. Naval Academy

Victoria Lynn Carson
Nicholas County

James Alexander Inman
Berkeley County

Thomas Richard Martineau
Jefferson County

Nicolas André Morel (also nominated to the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy)
Berkeley County

Jordon Ray Nibert
Fayette County

Evan Kelly Spradling
Kanawha County

Austin Cole Stover
Putnam County

Alexis Jane Summers
Wood County

Taylor Rose Swiger
Berkeley County

Katherene Rose Welsh
Marshall County 

# # #