**Click here or the image above to watch the video.**
**Click here to download the video.**

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) today announced U.S. service academy nominations for 29 qualified high school seniors from 18 counties throughout West Virginia. Nominees were selected by a board chosen by Senator Capito that reviewed each application, interviewed candidates and made recommendations. Additionally, Senator Capito released a video message congratulating the nominees.

For more information on the Academy Nomination process, visit Senator Capito’s website here.

Full transcript of Senator Capito’s video:

“Each year, I have the honor of nominating young West Virginians for admission to our nation’s prestigious service academies.

“This year, I hosted four Academy Day events across West Virginia and reviewed a number of really impressive applications.

“After thorough review, I am proud to announce that I have selected 29 wonderful students from 18 West Virginia counties to attend the U.S. Air Force Academy, U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy.

“These students truly represent our best and our brightest, and I am confident in their ability to become the next generation of our leaders in our nation.

“To all of our nominees: Congratulations!”

Service Academy Nominees are listed below:

U.S. Air Force Academy

Hietam Rayan Belhachmi
Berkeley County

Andrew Keagan Davis
Berkeley County

Sara Marie Ellem
Wood County

Noah S. Endres
Lincoln County

Hayden Karl Hatfield
Kanawha County

Andrew Scott Heil
Monongalia County

Andrew Scott Hunt
Jackson County

Bradford Ray Hurt
Mercer County

Maci Gwen Lunsford
Cabell County

Luke Michael Sweat
Brooke County

Samuel E. Templeton
Kanawha County

Chase J. Trembly
Wood County

U.S. Military Academy

Braydie Christian Carr
Monroe County

Taylor G. Flowers
Hancock County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy

Quinn J. Healey
Jefferson County

Ryan Michael Hefner
Jefferson County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy

Robert Ezekiel Matthias Lilly
Preston County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy

Josiah Thomas Richardson
Mercer County

Ayden Michael Ash Ward
Harrison County

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Christian Kip Gottlieb
Jefferson County
*Also nominated to the U.S Naval Academy

U.S. Naval Academy

Charles F. Frizzell
Marshall County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Air Force Academy

Declan W. Hall
Berkeley County

Ryan Reece Hall
Harrison County

Kendall J. Itobi
Jefferson County

Olivia Lucille Kiger-Camilo
Ohio County

Elijah Allen Schetrom
Hardy County

Chandler Scott Schmidt
Cabell County

Samuel Gene Stotler
Berkeley County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Air Force and U.S. Merchant Marine Academies

Meghan Elise Taylor
Putnam County
*Also nominated to the U.S. Military Academy

# # #