WASHINGTON, D.C. – A resolution cosponsored by U.S. Senators Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) and Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.) commemorating the 125th anniversary of the Second Morrill Act, legislation that established educational opportunities for African-Americans with the creation of 19 land-grant universities, has passed the Senate by unanimous consent.

The 1890 Land-Grant Universities are a network of historically black colleges and universities that were created to promote education in agriculture and the mechanic arts and provide access to education for students who had been previously denied opportunities at land grant universities because of race. These schools, which include West Virginia State University, continue this mission as leaders in research, innovation and development for agriculture and extension programs.

“As a 1890 Land Grant University, West Virginia State University has a profound history in our state,” said Senator Capito. “Today, West Virginia State University continues to make significant contributions through its work advancing STEM fields, partnering with NASA and promoting 4-H youth development. I am proud to cosponsor this resolution marking the 125th anniversary of the Second Morrill Act.”

“It is an honor to commemorate America’s 1890 Land-Grant Universities, including our own West Virginia State University,” Senator Manchin said. “WVSU holds a significant place in West Virginia’s history, and it continues to make an influence on our state and our nation by creating learning and growing opportunities through innovative STEM research and world-class academics. I’m so proud of this historic educational establishment and all of the 1890 Land-Grant Universities that are truly making a difference.”

The following schools are 1890 Land Grant Universities:

  •         Alabama A&M University
  •         Alcorn State University
  •         Central State University
  •         Delaware State University
  •         Florida A&M University
  •         Fort Valley State University
  •         Kentucky State University
  •         Langston University
  •         Lincoln University
  •         North Carolina A&T State University
  •         Prairie View A&M University
  •         South Carolina State University
  •         Southern University System
  •         Tennessee State University
  •         Tuskegee University
  •         University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
  •         University of Maryland Eastern Shore
  •         Virginia State University
  •         West Virginia State University

August 30, 2015 marks the 125th anniversary of the enactment of the Second Morrill Act. Click here to learn more about the resolution, introduced by U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-Ark.).