WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Chairman of the Senate Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee’s Clean Air and Nuclear Safety Subcommittee, today applauded the EPW Committee’s passage of her legislation, known as the ARENA Act, which rolls back President Obama’s so-called “Clean Power Plan.”

“Today’s vote brings us one step closer to blocking this administration’s unprecedented clean power grab that threatens to raise energy prices and cut jobs for American families,” said Senator Capito. “The administration’s proposal will do more harm to our energy landscape and West Virginia’s already ailing economy. We need to send these overreaching EPA regulations back to the drawing board, and I am grateful for the support of my colleagues on this important legislation.”

Key provisions of the ARENA Act:

  • Prevents mandates for unproven technology: Before the EPA can set a technology-based standard for new power plants, the standard must first be achieved for at least one year at six separate power facilities throughout the country. The bill also prevents the EPA from using any demonstration projects – projects that are reliant on federal support – from being used to set the standard.
  • Delays implementation: The bill would delay implementation of the rule pending final judicial review, including the dates for submission of state plans.
  • Holds EPA accountable: This bill would require the EPA to issue state-specific model plans demonstrating how each state could meet the required emissions reductions called for in the rule.
  • Enables states to protect ratepayers: The bill would provide that no state shall be required to implement a state or federal plan that the state’s governor determines would negatively impact economic growth, negatively impact the reliability of the electricity system or negatively impact electricity ratepayers.
  • Protects highway fund dollars: The bill would prevent the EPA from withholding highway funds from any states for noncompliance with the “Clean Power Plan.”

The bill is co-sponsored by 35 Senators, including Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Senate Republican Whip John Cornyn (R-Texas), Senate Republican Conference Chairman John Thune (R-S.D.), Senate Environment and Public Works Committee Chairman Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chairman Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Senator Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.).