WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.) today joined Senator Marco Rubio (R-Fla.) and several of her colleagues in introducing a resolution in support of the courageous Cuban people as they lead historic protests throughout the island against six decades of repression and tyranny from the Castro and Díaz-Canel regime.

“We stand in solidarity with the people of Cuba and their rejection of communist oppression,” Senator Capito said. “I am inspired by their courage as they join together to fight for freedom and liberty against tyranny. At this critical moment, America should be united and steadfast in our support for those seeking these fundamental human rights.”

The resolution highlights the dictatorship’s long record of oppression against pro-democracy leaders, political opponents, and civic movements. Following this weekend’s wave of peaceful protests, the regime has once again arbitrarily detained José Daniel Ferrer, leader of Cuba's Patriotic Union of Cuba (UNPACU), Berta Soler, leader of the Ladies in White, Luis Manuel Otero Alcántara, leader of the San Isidro Movement, and 200 Cubans.

Joining Senators Capito and Rubio in introducing the resolution are Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), and Jim Risch (R-Idaho).

The full text of the resolution can be found here.

# # #